Women Place Two on All-SAC List

Press Release Photo
Honorable Mention All-SAC Honorees - Sierra Shipley and Chelsea Garrison

Siloam Springs, Arkansas (February 27, 2012) - Sophomore Sierra Shipley and senior Chelsea Garrison were both named All-Conference Honorable Mentions for their play during the 2011-2012 Sooner Athletic Conference basketball season.

Topping the list are Oklahoma City’s Coach Rob Edmisson and Lubbock Christian’s Coach Steve Gomez, who share Coach of the Year honors after guiding their teams to the co-championship of the regular season.

OCU’s Dietra Caldwell is the SAC Player of the year. Caldwell average 12.8 points per game to lead the Stars to a 27-1 regular season record.

SAC-leading scorer Kelsey Canavan of Lubbock Christian is Newcomer of the Year and her teammate, Nicole Hampton, is the Freshman of the Year. Canavan averaged 16.6 points and eight rebounds per game and Hampton averaged 13.6 points per game.

Rogers State’s Sierra Cornwell, who leads the NAIA with 111 steals, is the Defensive Player of the Year.

Emily Davis of OCU and Northwestern Oklahoma State’s Autumn Klugh share the Sportsmanship Award.

Caldwell, Logan Martin of Southern Nazarene, Canavan, Lauren Gober of OCU, Emily Atkins of LCU and Cornwell are the First-Team selections.

The Second Team is made up of Hampton, Audrey Richmond of Northwestern, Omoul Thiam of SNU, Tiffany Goldwire of OCU and Jalisa Howard of St. Gregory’s.

Abbey Marra of SNU, Leticia Silva of SGU, Brittany Roberts of LCU, Desiree Jeffries of OCU, Alex Williams of Wayland Baptist and Gianna Woods of RSU are on the Third Team.

Honorable Mention honorees are Bridget Reynolds, Lillian Prince, Raquel Dudzevich and Charity Fowler of Oklahoma Baptist, Sierra Shipley and Chelsea Garrison of John Brown, Erika Raymond of WBU, Katy O’Steen and Katy Clift of Oklahoma Christian, Taylor Booze and Nicollette Smith of OCU, Klugh and LaParis Newsom of Northwestern, Leah Smith and Logan Froese of RSU, Kylie Mayes of SGU, Sharmeda Johnson of SNU, April Ehlers of LCU, Parris Price and Kourtni Williams of Mid-America Christian and Tashona Ototivo of Science and Arts of Oklahoma.





Share via

Share Icon:Share on FacebookShare Icon:Email this PageShare Icon:Share on Twitter