State Legislators Meet With JBU Students

Press Release Photo

Siloam Springs, Ark (January 14, 2003) - Only days before departing for Little Rock for the 2003 legislative session, six state legislators met with John Brown University students and administrators on Wednesday, Jan. 8 to discuss state-funded academic scholarship programs.

State legislators attending the forum included: Marilyn Edwards, Mike Kenney, Doug Matayo and Daryl Pace from the State House of Representatives, and Kim Hendren from the State Senate.

Also in attendance were Senator John Brown III, Kearney Dietz, President of Arkansas’ Independent Colleges and Universities, five JBU students and six JBU administrators.

Topics addressed at the forum included scholarship incentives to keep academically gifted students in the state after graduating from high school, the need for new teachers in the delta region of Arkansas, and other topics related to state legislation in regards to higher education.

Each of the participating students is a resident of Arkansas who has received state-funded academic scholarships to attend JBU. The students spoke to the legislators about the role the scholarships played in encouraging them to pursue higher education within the state of Arkansas.

“The students who spoke to the legislators are all recipients of either the Arkansas Challenge Grant or the Governor’s Distinguished Scholarship, and their testimonials reinforced the importance of state funding for scholarships. As the Legislators now meet in Little Rock to discuss the allocation of state funds, it is our hope that they will remember these five bright students who passionately explained that these programs made it possible for them to get a high-quality education at John Brown University,” said Don Crandall, vice president for enrollment management at JBU. John Brown University is a private university with an enrollment of more than 1,700 students from 42 states and 45 countries. JBU is a member of Arkansas’ Independent Colleges and Universities and the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities.

Share via

Share Icon:Share on FacebookShare Icon:Email this PageShare Icon:Share on Twitter