All-SAC Men's Basketball Team Announced

Press Release Photo
From L-R: Davaughn Jackson, Abel Galliguez, Ryland Allen

Siloam Springs, Ark. (March 2, 2010) - Senior Davaughn Jackson, sophomore Abel Galliguez, and junior Ryland Allen were announced as members of the 2009-2010 All-Sooner Athletic Conference Team released on Monday afternoon.

Jackson earned First-Team honors, and Galliguez was named to the Third-Team, while Allen received Academic All-Conference honors.

While there were several ties for many of the awards in the Sooner Athletic Conference, Oklahoma Baptist University’s Nate Brumfield stands alone as Sooner Athletic Conference Men’s Basketball Player of the Year for 2009-10.

Brumfield, a senior forward from Rochester, N.Y., leads the SAC in scoring at 22.8 points per game and steals at 2.1 per game. The seven-time SAC Player of the Week also is the first Bison to lead his team in scoring, rebounding, steals and assists all in the same season.

Brumfield is third in the SAC in rebounding at 8.5 per game and fifth in assists at 4.1.He also leads the NAIA in field goal percentage at .690 and is second nationally in scoring average.

But while Brumfield held that honor by himself, only Freshman of the Year Fayzon Richey and Sportsmanship Award winner Jason Taylor didn’t have to share their spotlight.

OBU coach Doug Tolin and Southern Nazarene head coach Adam Bohac battled for the top spot all season long and share Coach of the Year honors. Both led their teams to top 10 seasons.

OBU’s A.J. Hawkins and Southern Nazarene’s Xavier Alexander are Co-Newcomers of the Year. Hawkins, a senior transfer from Wichita State, averaged 17 points, while Alexander, a transfer from George Washington, averaged 17.4.

Hawkins also shared Tri-Defensive Player of the Year honors with Deonta Black of Southern Nazarene and Deveric Taylor of Rogers State. Black is a senior from Perris, Calif., and Taylor is a senior from Dallas, Texas. Richey, a 6-3 guard out of El Reno High School, played for St. Gregory’s and averaged a team-leading 17.6 points per game.

Taylor, a senior from Oklahoma Christian is the SAC’s Sportsmanship Award winner.

Brumfield, Alexander, Jason Taylor and A.J. Hawkins were joined on the First-Team by Oklahoma City’s Chris Brown and John Brown’s Davaughn Jackson.

The Second Team consists of A.J. Thomas of Southern Nazarene, Deveric Taylor, Brandon Dixon of Northwestern, Kenny Hewitt of Lubbock Christian, Brandon Williams of Mid-America Christian and Jeff Crocker of Oklahoma Christian.

The Third Team includes Charlie Shorter of MACU, Douglas Williams of Lubbock Christian, Brandon Brown of Northwestern, Corey Bingham of Oklahoma City, Fred Savoie of USAO, Abel Galliguez of John Brown and Garrett Steinmetz of OBU.

Share via

Share Icon:Share on FacebookShare Icon:Email this PageShare Icon:Share on Twitter