Men's All-SAC Team Announced

Press Release Photo
Abel Galliguez earned SAC Freshman of the Year honors after averaging 10.7 ppg, 3.2 apg, and 1.2 spg.

Siloam Springs, Ark. (March 1, 2009) - Oklahoma Christian University forward Jason Taylor has been named Sooner Athletic Conference Men’s Basketball Player of the Year, it was announced Sunday, along with the All-Conference Teams.

Taylor, a 6-7 junior forward from Edmond, Okla., led the conference in scoring at 23.5 points per game, and in rebounding with 8.3 boards per game.

Rogers State head coach Lloyd Williams was named Coach of the Year after guiding the Hillcats to a No. 1 ranking and the conference regular season championship with only one loss.

OBU’s Nate Brumfield, a 6-5 junior forward from Rochester, N.Y., was named Newcomer of the Year. He averaged 20.4 points per game for the Bison.

John Brown’s Abel Galliguez, a guard from Sugarland, Texas, was named Freshman of the Year. He led JBU in assists (3.2) and steals (1.2).

Charles Carter of OBU was named Defensive Player of the Year. Carter, a forward from Pasadena, Calif., led the SAC in blocked shots with 2.7 per game.

Brandon Durham, a senior guard from Southern Nazarene, was honored with the Sportsmanship Award.

Taylor and Brumfield were named to the First-Team and were joined by Brent Jones of Oklahoma Baptist, Eric Young of Rogers State, Davaughn Jackson of John Brown and Kenny Hewitt of Lubbock Christian.

Jones, a senior guard from Toledo, Ohio, averaged 16 points for OBU.

Young, a junior guard from Houston, Texas, led RSU with 14.3 points and 5.9 rebounds per game.

Jackson, a junior forward from Nassau, Bahamas, led the Golden Eagles with 14.8 points and 7.7 rebounds per game. Hewitt, a sophomore forward from Dallas, averaged 19.1 points per game to lead LCU.

Durham topped the Second Team and was joined there by Termaine Snyder and Brandon Brown of Northwestern Oklahoma State, Sylvester Spicer and Roderick Rodgers of Rogers State and USAO’s Tim Nelson.

The Third-Team included Oklahoma Christian’s Jeff Crocker and Kyle Tefft, Teddy Chambers of Wayland Baptist, Jamel White of Oklahoma City, Deveric Taylor of Rogers State, Cody Page of John Brown and Justin Williams of OBU.

Rounding out the list for JBU is senior Jarrett McGriff, who earned Honorable Mention.

McGriff also received Academic All-Conference honors along with teammate Ryland Allen.

Share via

Share Icon:Share on FacebookShare Icon:Email this PageShare Icon:Share on Twitter