JBU Business Students Place Second in State Governor’s Cup

Siloam Springs, Ark. (April 21, 2008) - The award luncheon for the Donald W. Reynolds Governor’s Cup competition was held Thursday, April 17 in Little Rock. Over 1200 businesspeople watched as the top six teams in the state awaited the final results. As the awards were handed out, the John Brown University Business team “Enterra”, walked away with a second place finish for the state of Arkansas. The business plan developed by “Enterra” was to open a retail store specializing in organic and recycled apparel and accessories. Their business plan was required to include a mission, vision, strategy, marketing, financials and investment opportunities for the first five years of business. Team “Enterra,” included Marcus Naramore, Micah Williams, John Williams, Maria Jose Valencia Merlos and Yaribeth Pacheco. Placing second in the state has advanced “Enterra” to the Las Vegas tri-state competition in May to compete against the best teams from Oklahoma and Nevada. “Each business plan represents hundreds of hours of work from our students, said Mrs. Mandy Moore, business instructor. “The competition this year was especially hard. Several of the judges commented that this was the toughest year yet in this competition. I am so proud of all of our JBU teams. The students talk about this experience as one of the most defining moments in their lives. To see my students tear up when they hear the competition results shows that this is more than just a project, a competition, or prize money – this is an experience that pushes us all to do more together than we could ever do alone.” Two weeks ago, JBU had five of the top 12 teams in the state present their plans to a panel of judges during the state competition in Little Rock. Out of those five teams, two JBU teams advanced to the top six in the state and travelled back to Little Rock last week to attend the award luncheon. The additional team that advanced to the top six was “InTrend”. Students Charlie Gomez, Karen Guerrero Espinoza, Mason Allbritten and Valerie Wong were all part of that team.

Share via

Share Icon:Share on FacebookShare Icon:Email this PageShare Icon:Share on Twitter