Andrew Named to Second Team

Siloam Springs, Ark. (November 20, 2006) - Terry Andrew was the lone JBU player to be named to the All-Sooner Athletic Conference Team this season. Terry, a junior defender from St. John's, Antigua, was honored with a Second Team selection.

Southern Nazarene, which won the regular season conference title and the Region VI Tournament, dominated the All-Sooner Athletic Conference Men’s Soccer Team.

SNU placed six players on the First Team and picked up two superlative awards as well.

Luke Tyburski, a senior defender from Bathurst, Australia, was named Defensive Player of the Year and Dominique Nayaga, a senior forward from Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, was named Co-Offensive Player of the Year.

Oklahoma Christian had three top award winners in Coach of the Year David Scott, Newcomer of the Year Christian Fernandes, a freshman midfielder from Maringa, Brazil, and Co-Offensive Player of the Year Matt Clark, a senior forward from Midwest City.

Named to the First-Team were SNU goalkeeper David Eguren, Tyburski, midfielders Jeffery Darkwah, Daniel Agina and Evan Dresel, and Nayaga; OC defender Adam Barnes and Clark; Oklahoma City University defender Andy Taylor; Oklahoma Baptist defender Elcio Freitas; and USAO midfielder Adam Day.

Second team selections were Fernandes; OC midfielder Phil Hoover and forward Brady Nikkel; USAO goalkeeper Shane Flanagan and defender Jonathan Oman; John Brown defender Terry Andrew; OBU defender Taizo Kasuya and midfielder Elijah Mwansanga; Oklahoma City midfielder Luke Garvey and forward Ryan Trudgian; and St. Gregory’s defender James Press.

--Courtesy Ray Fink, SAC Sports Information--

Share via

Share Icon:Share on FacebookShare Icon:Email this PageShare Icon:Share on Twitter