Burns Named TURF Systems AD of the Year Award

Press Release Photo

Siloam Springs, Ark. (June 21, 2006) - The National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) announced the 29 winners of the GeneralSports TURF Systems AD of the Year Award (ADOY) today.


There are four geographic regions - northeast, southeast, central and west; while the membership is separated into seven categories - Division I-A; Division I-AA; Division I-AAA; Division II; Division III; NAIA; and Junior/Community Colleges. One winner was selected in each of the seven categories, along with a cross-divisional International winner for a total of 29 honorees. Winners will receive their awards during the James J. Corbett Awards Luncheon at NACDA’s 41st Annual Convention at New Orleans Marriott and Sheraton New Orleans in New Orleans, Louisiana.



NACDA Executive Director Mike Cleary says the ADOY Award is essential because it highlights the efforts of athletics directors at all levels for their commitment and positive contributions to campuses and their surrounding communities.



“Our Honors and Awards Committee recognized a need for an award such as the AD of the Year,” said Cleary, who oversaw implementation of the program to allow all NACDA Officers and Honors and Awards Committee members to participate in the awards process, should they be elected. “The program brings to light the exceptional jobs done by athletics directors across the country. These 29 winners exemplify that, providing us with a group of outstanding athletics directors who excel at their jobs.”



Winners of the 2005-06 GeneralSports TURF Systems AD of the Year Award are:

Division I-A
Laing Kennedy Kent State University Northeast
Jim Livengood University of Arizona West
Terry Don Phillips Clemson University Southeast
Kevin White University of Notre Dame Central
Division I-AA    
Paul Kowalczyk Southern Illinois University Central
Francis McLaughlin Fordham University Northeast
Steve Sloan University of Tennessee Chattanooga Southeast
Larry Teis Texas State University West
Division I-AAA    
Joni Comstock American University Southeast
Lynn Hickey University of Texas San Antonio West
Cheryl Levick Saint Louis University Central
Pat Meiser-McKnett University of Hartford Northeast
Division II    
Bill Goldring Ashland University Northeast
Lynda Goodrich Western Washington University West
Dan Kenney University of North Carolina Pembroke Southeast
Michael Kovalchik Hillsdale College Central
Division III    
Holly Gera Montclair State University Southeast
Leon Lunder Carleton College West
Larry Scheiderer Denison University Central
Don Tencher Rhode Island College Northeast
Bob Burns John Brown University Central
Jim Dennison Walsh University Northeast
Steve Knight William Carey College Southeast
Joel Schuldheisz Concordia University West
Junior/Community College    
Ron Case GloucesterCountyCollege Northeast
Gregg Wolfe GulfCoastCommunity College Southeast
Sue Sinclair IllinoisCentralCollege Central
Joe Tubb SouthPlainsCollege West
Bob Philip University of British Columbia  



All NACDA-member directors of athletics in the United States, Canada and Mexico who met the criteria were eligible for the award. Among the criteria were service as an AD for a minimum of five academic years; demonstration of commitment to higher education and student-athletes; continuous teamwork, loyalty and excellence; and the ability to inspire individuals or groups to high levels of accomplishments. Additionally, each AD’s institution must have passed a compliance check through its appropriate governing body (i.e., NCAA, NAIA, etc.), in which the institution could not have been on probation or cited for a lack of institutional control within the last five years during the tenure of the current athletics director.



Nominators were NACDA-member directors of athletics, institutional presidents and conference commissioners. Special Selection Committees composed of current and former directors of athletics, present and past NCAA and NAIA presidents, current and former commissioners and other key athletics administrators voted on nominees for the award. A complete listing of Selection Committee members can be found on NACDA’s web site at www.nacda.com.



GENERAL SPORTS TURF SYSTEMS, headquartered in Rochester, Michigan, is the only synthetic turf company headquartered in the Midwest. The company develops, designs, constructs and services synthetic sports fields. Its primary markets are small to mid-size colleges, and high schools where multiple sports are being played on a single surface and, therefore, require enhanced durability. The company markets these products under its GameDay Grass Xpe and Fusion TurfTM brands, using the world’s leading materials and components. The company also offers revenue generation services, lease/finance programs and other customer resources designed to make the process simple and smooth for owners.



NACDA, now in its 41st year, is the professional and educational association for more than 6,100 collegiate athletics administrators at more than 1,600 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. More than 2,000 athletics administrators annually attend the NACDA Convention. Additionally, NACDA administers nine professional associations for the separate business units that report directly to the athletics director. For more information, please visit NACDA’s web site at www.nacda.com.



Brief Bio: Dr. Bob Burns, John Brown University, Central

Not only has Bob Burns been the director of athletics at John Brown University for the past 25 years, he has also been a professor of education for the past 31 years and chair of the health and physical education department for 27 years. Burns laid the foundation for the establishment of gender equality throughout the athletics program with the addition of many new women’s programs. He spearheaded the construction of new tennis courts, a soccer complex, several club fields and a multi-use health and recreation complex. Burns also initiated efforts to increase fund-raising dollars. He is a two-time winner of the NAIA Region VI Athletics Director of the Year Award and has served as the NAIA Region VI chair for six years. He is on the original committee that developed and implemented the NAIA Champions of Character program. Burns has also served on the NACDA Executive Committee for the past four years. In 2005, the men’s basketball team took home the NAIA Division I championship and the men’s soccer team won the National Christian College Athletics Association championship. Seven sports have made national tournament appearances. Prior to his tenure at JBU, Burns coached baseball at Campbellsville University, where he was named the Kentucky Intercollegiate Athletics Conference Baseball Coach of the Year in 1974. He holds a bachelor’s degree from Greenville College and master’s and doctorate degrees from the University of Arkansas.


Share via

Share Icon:Share on FacebookShare Icon:Email this PageShare Icon:Share on Twitter