John Brown Earns 91 Slots on the Commissioner's Honor Role

Press Release Photo

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. -- For the second time in Sooner Athletic Conference history, the league has announced a conference-wide Commissioner's Honor Roll, and John Brown University boasts the fourth-most total honorees with 91, league offices announced today (June 8).

To be eligible for the Commissioner's Honor Roll, student-athletes must maintain a minimum 3.00 GPA during the previous academic year.

"I am so proud of our student-athletes and their commitment to excellence in the classroom," said Robyn Daugherty, director of athletics. "In a world where athletic performance overshadows academic achievement, it is exciting to me to see 50 percent of our student-athletes at a 3.00 or higher, especially at an institution where academics are very challenging."

With 91 honorees, JBU boasts the fourth-highest number of student-athletes honored. Texas Wesleyan led all conference institutions with 120 winners while Southwestern Christian (Okla.) landed 106 and Oklahoma City finished third with 104.

Increasing its total by one this year, the men's soccer team boasted a JBU-best 15 honorees, which finished tied for second-most among SAC men's soccer programs. Joining the men's soccer team with double-digit award winners was women's soccer (14), men's cross country (11) and volleyball (11). Men's cross country experienced the most growth of any Golden Eagle program, improving by four from last year's seven winners. Men's basketball finished the season with seven honorees, three more than last season, while men's golf (5), men's tennis (6), women's basketball (8) and volleyball each added two more than last season.

Additionally, women's cross country posted nine honorees while women's tennis contributed five to JBU's total.

The awards are presented by Cypress Risk Management, an Omaha, Neb., based insurance agency that specializes in providing customized solutions for collegiate student health and athletic accident insurance. The organization currently insures over 500,000 students nationwide and is already engaged with several other NAIA conferences in similar type of partnerships. Cypress Risk Managements partnership with the SAC gives it exclusive sponsorship to the newly-founded awards program that covers the 13 men's and women's NAIA-sanctioned sports the conference offers.

Golden Eagle Award Winners





    • Matt Ledford (Men's Basketball)



    • Josh Rhodius (Men's Basketball)




    • Thomas Bearden (Men's Cross Country)


    • Jacob Benjamin (Men's Cross Country)


    • Kenny Crane (Men's Cross Country)


    • Michael Games (Men's Cross Country)


    • Austin Hudson (Men's Cross Country)


    • Kent McDonell (Men's Cross Country)


    • Levi Nordmeyer (Men's Cross Country)


    • Justin Riffel (Men's Cross Country)


    • Aaron Stafford (Men's Cross Country)


    • Jacob Synek (Men's Cross Country)


  • Josh Uzelac (Men's Cross Country)



    • Trevor Barton (Men's Golf)


    • Max Gordon (Men's Golf)


    • Sam Greenleaf (Men's Golf)


    • Tristan Kadel (Men's Golf)


  • Robert Raborn (Men's Golf)



    • Marco Cardona (Men's Soccer)


    • Cory Cole (Men's Soccer)


    • Connor Georgopulos (Men's Soccer)


    • Conner Haney (Men's Soccer)


    • Logan Hellinghausen (Men's Soccer)


    • Adam Holt (Men's Soccer)


    • Daniel Marulanda (Men's Soccer)


    • Kelvin Omondi (Men's Soccer)


    • James Pollard (Men's Soccer)


    • Guilherme Barbosa (Men's Soccer)


    • Collin Smith (Men's Soccer)


    • Santiago Vanegas (Men's Soccer)


    • Ryan Williams (Men's Soccer)


    • Britt Wisener (Men's Soccer)


  • Zeke Zumbro (Men's Soccer)



    • Jacob Baack (Men's Tennis)


    • Colton Cheek (Men's Tennis)


    • Fernando Hurley (Men's Tennis)


    • Nathan Kuykendall (Men's Tennis)


    • Benetton Lee (Men's Tennis)


  • Phillip Todd (Men's Tennis)



    • Brooke Barker (Women's Basketball)


    • Kimmy Deines (Women's Basketball)


    • Courtney Fine (Women's Basketball)


    • Mariah Knox (Women's Basketball)


    • Sofia Mendoza (Women's Basketball)


    • Allie Pack (Women's Basketball)


    • Lauren Pelegreen (Women's Basketball)


  • Jana Schammel (Women's Basketball)



    • Annie Brown (Women's Cross Country)


    • Kaitlyn Collier (Women's Cross Country)


    • Carly Coney (Women's Cross Country)


    • Erin Green (Women's Cross Country)


    • Erin Haley (Women's Cross Country)


    • Abigail Melby (Women's Cross Country)


    • Haley Newcomb (Women's Cross Country)


    • Jennifer Poole (Women's Cross Country)


  • Regan Roth (Women's Cross Country)



    • Annika Bos (Women's Soccer)


    • Anna Brown (Women's Soccer)


    • Alex Fahr (Women's Soccer)


    • Sara Frey (Women's Soccer)


    • Sarah Hill (Women's Soccer)


    • Sara Lachance (Women's Soccer)


    • Lauren Marsh (Women's Soccer)


    • Anne Metz (Women's Soccer)


    • Kristen Morency (Women's Soccer)


    • Hannah Poor (Women's Soccer)


    • Aspen Robinson (Women's Soccer)


    • Lauren Tonkovich (Women's Soccer)


    • Sam Weber (Women's Soccer)


  • Julie Whitlow (Women's Soccer)



    • Jessie Alexander (Women's Tennis)


    • Eva Berry (Women's Tennis)


    • Clare Holden (Women's Tennis)


    • Taylor Russell (Women's Tennis)


  • Krizana Saucedo (Women's Tennis)



    • Alyssa Arnold (Volleyball)


    • Brittany Ayers (Volleyball)


    • Melissa Bakke (Volleyball)


    • Elizabeth Bjornsen (Volleyball)


    • Beth Brankle (Volleyball)


    • Bailei Brown (Volleyball)


    • Karis Buff (Volleyball)


    • Audrey Dearien (Volleyball)


    • Bethany Maddox (Volleyball)


    • Molli Pugh (Volleyball)


  • Bailey Sager (Volleyball)

Share via

Share Icon:Share on FacebookShare Icon:Email this PageShare Icon:Share on Twitter