John Brown University Honors Athletes

Siloam Springs, Ark (April 22, 2002) - The John Brown University Department of Athletics honored athletes in each sport at the annual Athletic Awards Convocation on Saturday, April 20. Athletes in each sport were presented awards that depicted outstanding contributions to their respective teams during the 2001-2002 seasons.

For women’s volleyball, Coach Robyn Gordon presented Jairin Schrader and Rachel Cureton as the winners of the Christian Character Award, Kim Peabody as the Most Improved Player and Amber Squires as the Most Valuable Player.

In men’s soccer, Coach Bob Gustavson presented the Sportsmanship Award to Robert Bass, the Most Improved Player to Paul Barker and the Most Valuable Player to Pablo Fernandez.

Coach Jeff Soderquist , the women’s basketball coach announced that Sephanie Kunego was the recipient of the Hustle Award and that Katie Elliott was selected as both the Most Improved and the Most Valuable Player.

The men’s basketball coach, John Sheehy presented Joe Manthe as the Best Defensive Player, Reyjavick De Gracia as the Most Improved Player, Dru Wheatcroft as the recipient of the Charles A. Thomas Hustle Award, Aldo McKay as the recipient of the John Enders Memorial Award (for exemplifying the ideals of JBU), and Jahir Mejia at the Most Valuable Player.

For swimming, swim coach Brent Rush announced the awards for both the men’s and women’s swim teams. The Most Improved Award for men went to Kyle Struble and to Jamie Yeoman for women. Mark England and Elizabeth Barnes were the recipients of dual awards as both swimmers received the Most Inspirational Award and the High Point Award for their respective teams.

Men’s and women’s tennis awards were presented by tennis coach, Carrie Penner. The Most Improved Player for the men was awarded to Trent Pepper and he also received the Hustle Award. Dru Wheatcroft was the Most Valuable Player for the men. For women’s tennis, Melinda Brooks received the Hustle Award and Most Improved Player Awards and the Most Valuable Player was announced as Martha Elbrecht.

The Christian Character Award, given to reflect the qualities of Respect, Responsibility, Integrity, Servant Leadership, and Sportsmanship honored Amber Squires in women’s athletics and Joseph Mason in men’s athletics.

Outstanding Athletes for the 2001-2002 school year were NAIA All-Americans in their respective sports. Leo Peirano, a soccer player and Mark England, a swimmer were the co-winners for men’s athletics. The Outstanding Female athlete was volleyball player, Amber Squires.

Scholar athletes were announced at the Awards Convocation. An athlete with a cumulative grade points average of 3.25 receives the scholar athlete award.


Briana Kobbervig

Hannah Melby

Amber Squires

Michelle Manes


Dru Kostus

Matt Thompson

Andy Korn

Women’s Basketball

Sofie Voordeckers

Saralin Wolfe

Men’s Basketball

Brian Matchell

Joe Manthe


Becky Alford

Libby Mills

Mance Buttram

Daniel Mick

Josh Green

Mark England

Elizabeth Barnes


Allison McKenzie

Joseph Mason

Brian Murphy

John Brown University is a private university with an enrollment of over 1,600 students from 45 states and 33 countries. JBU is a member of the Arkansas Independent Colleges and Universities as well as the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities.


Share via

Share Icon:Share on FacebookShare Icon:Email this PageShare Icon:Share on Twitter