Meisner Aircraft named title sponsor of 2012 SAC Basketball Tournaments

This is JBU's first time to host the event

Press Release Photo
Meisner Aircraft will be the title sponsor of the 2012 Sooner Athletic Conference Tournament.

Siloam Springs, Ark. (January 31, 2012) - John Brown University Director of Athletics Robyn Daugherty has announced that Meisner Aircraft Jet Sales & Acquisition will be the title sponsor for the 2012 Sooner Athletic Conference Basketball Tournaments taking place March 1-3, 2012 at Bill George Arena on the campus of John Brown University.

Meisner Aircraft is an industry leader in aircraft sales and acquisition, worldwide, and provides clients with great positions on the aircraft best fitting their organization or personal needs.

"We are excited to partner with Meisner Aircraft to make this year's tournament an enjoyable experience for everyone involved," said Daugherty.  "JBU along with the Siloam Springs community are looking forward to accommodating the top 16 teams that earn their way here.  And we anticipate that Bill George Arena, in its second season of operation, will provide a tremendous atmosphere to the participants and the spectators.”

This will be JBU’s first time to host the SAC basketball tournaments since re-joining the conference in 1995.

Last season, Southern Nazarene (Okla.) walked away with both the men’s and women’s crown.  The SNU men claimed a 66-52 win over Northwestern Oklahoma State in the title game.  And on the women’s side, SNU’s ladies defeated Rogers State (Okla.) 52-48 to hoist the trophy.  It was the third tournament title for the SNU men and ninth for the women.

The SAC is known to many as the premier small college basketball conference in the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA).  Over the last 10 years, a SAC member has won the NAIA Men’s National Championship five times – including JBU’s historic run to the championship in 2005.  JBU also claimed their first SAC tournament title in 2010.  On the women’s side, a SAC team has been crowned the NAIA National Champion 10 times over the last 20 years.

SAC member institutions include John Brown, Lubbock Christian (Texas), Mid-America Christian (Okla.), Northwestern Oklahoma State, Oklahoma Baptist, Oklahoma Christian, Oklahoma City, Rogers State, St. Gregory’s (Okla.), Southern Nazarene, Science & Arts of Oklahoma, and Wayland Baptist (Texas).

The winners of the SAC tournaments will receive automatic berths to the NAIA Divison I men’s and women’s basketball national tournaments.  The 2012 NAIA Division I Men’s Basketball National Championship will be held March 14-20 at the Municipal Auditorium in Kansas City, Mo.  The 2012 NAIA Division I Women's Basketball National Championship will be held March 14-20 at the Frankfort Convention Center in Frankfort, Ky. 

The 38,000-square-foot multipurpose Bill George Arena opened in the fall of 2010 and is the home of JBU's volleyball and men's and women's basketball teams.  The arena, which also hosts concerts, guest speakers, and graduation ceremonies, has a seating capacity of 1,800.  It is also the home of the Mary K. Chapman Hospitality Suite, which is located on the upper level overlooking the court.


Over the past 30 years, Meisner Aircraft has been building authentic relationships with their clients, truly seeking what’s best for YOU. Their lasting reputation of trust and honesty has been the key to their success and they seek to protect that reputation in every interaction with customers and other dealers as well. Visit them online today at to find out more about purchasing or selling an aircraft. 

Sooner Athletic Conference Tournament Past Champions:


2011–Southern Nazarene

2010–John Brown

2009–Rogers State

2008–Oklahoma City*

2007–Southern Nazarene

2006–Oklahoma City

2005–Oklahoma Baptist

2004–Oklahoma Baptist

2003–Oklahoma City

2002–Oklahoma City

2001–Lubbock Christian

2000–Oklahoma City

1999–Oklahoma City

1998–Southern Nazarene

1997–Oklahoma Baptist

1996–Oklahoma Baptist

1995–Oklahoma City

1994–Oklahoma City*

*Also won national championship that year 


2011–Southern Nazarene

2010–Oklahoma City

2009–Oklahoma City

2008–Oklahoma City

2007–Southern Nazarene

2006–Oklahoma City

2005–Southern Nazarene

2004–Oklahoma City

2003–Oklahoma City

2002–Southern Nazarene

2001–Oklahoma City*

2000–Oklahoma City*

1999–Southern Nazarene

1998–Wayland Baptist

1997–Southern Nazarene*

1996–Southern Nazarene*

1995–Southern Nazarene*

1994–Southern Nazarene*

*Also won national championship that year





Share via

Share Icon:Share on FacebookShare Icon:Email this PageShare Icon:Share on Twitter