Volleyball All-SAC Team Announced

Siloam Springs, Ark. (November 13, 2008) - Sooner Athletic Conference champion Lubbock Christian dominated the All-Sooner Athletic Conference team, released Thursday, with Rachel Stuyvesant carrying off the Most Valuable Player Award.

Stuyvesant, a junior setter from Albuquerque, N.M., led LCU with 839 assists this season and had a .941 serving percentage.

LCU’s Jennifer Lawrence was named Coach of the Year and Lady Chaps Courtney Yonke and Elissa Loynes were named Libero and Co-Hitter of the Year, respectively.

Oklahoma City also had two superlative honorees in Co-Hitter of the Year Whitney Kress and Newcomer of the Year Xiaoting Ma.

Oklahoma Baptist had Freshman of the Year honors with Chassie Hamilton.

The first-team included LCU’s Suzanne Childress, Loynes, Yonke and Stuyvesant; John Brown’s Christi Newton and Amber Wilson, OCU’s Kress and Ma, Wayland Baptist’s Jennifer Wyatt, OBU’s Hamilton, Southern Nazarene’s Erika Knowles and Mid-America Christian’s Emily Moore.

2008 All-Sooner Athletic Conference Volleyball Most Valuable Player: Rachel Stuyvesant, Lubbock Christian Coach of the Year: Jennifer Lawrence, Lubbock Christian Setter of the Year: Rachel Stuyvesant, Lubbock Christian Co-Hitter of the Year: Whitney Kress, Oklahoma City Co-Hitter of the Year: Elissa Loynes, Lubbock Christian Libero of the Year: Courtney Yonke, Lubbock Christian Newcomer of the Year: Xiaoting Ma, Oklahoma City Freshman of the Year: Chassie Hamilton, Oklahoma Baptist

First Team Suzanne Childress, Lubbock Christian Chassie Hamilton, Oklahoma Baptist Erika Knowles, Southern Nazarene Whitney Kress, Oklahoma City Elissa Loynes, Lubbock Christian Xiaoting Ma, Oklahoma City Emily Moore, Mid-America Christian Christi Newton, John Brown Rachel Stuyvesant, Lubbock Christian Amber Wilson, John Brown Jennifer Wyatt, Wayland Baptist Courtney Yonke, Lubbock Christian

Second Team Kim Galarza, Oklahoma Baptist Kimberli Harger, Wayland Baptist Kirsten Lee, John Brown Morgan Loewen, Southern Nazarene Desiree Luevano, Wayland Baptist Laurae Marty, John Brown Katie McGuire, Lubbock Christian Vicky Murphy, Oklahoma City Kelsey Odell, Lubbock Christian Shannon Proctor, John Brown Jennifer Roselius, Mid-America Christian Anika Voigt, Wayland Baptist

Honorable Mention Jeanee Campbell, Oklahoma City Hailey Clark, Wayland Baptist Lauren Hackney, Lubbock Christian Audrey Hemminger, Wayland Baptist Aubrey Junker, John Brown Lindi Lebsock, Southern Nazarene Brittany Palmer, Oklahoma Baptist Taryn Steele, Southern Nazarene Lacy Stone, Oklahoma Baptist Morgan Woolard, Mid-America Christian Shelbey Veselka, Oklahoma City

Share via

Share Icon:Share on FacebookShare Icon:Email this PageShare Icon:Share on Twitter