Thirty-Three JBU Student-Athletes Named Academic All-Conference Recipients

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. (January 23, 2015) -- For the first time in Sooner Athletic Conference history, the league has announced a conference-wide All-Academic team, and John Brown boasts the second-most total honorees with 33.

To be eligible for the SAC Academic All-Conference team, students must maintain a minimum 3.25 GPA during the previous two semesters and serve as regulars (letterwinners) on their respective team.

So far the sports of volleyball, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, men’s cross country and women’s cross country have designated its accolade winners, and the Golden Eagles led the way in volleyball (7), women’s soccer (11) and tied Texas Wesleyan with seven men’s soccer nominations.

Additionally, five women’s cross country players and three men’s cross country players received Academic All-Conference accolades. Overall, 224 student-athletes were nominated for the first-year award.

The awards are presented by Cypress Risk Management, an Omaha, Neb., based insurance agency that specializes in providing customized solutions for collegiate student health and athletic accident insurance. The organization currently insures over 500,000 students nationwide and is already engaged with several other NAIA conferences in similar type of partnerships. Cypress Risk Management’s partnership with the SAC gives it exclusive sponsorship to the newly-founded awards program that covers the 13 men's and women's NAIA-sanctioned sports the conference offers.

Golden Eagle Award Winners


  • Kendra Ammons (Volleyball)
  • Libby Blasingame (Volleyball)
  • Becca Young (Volleyball)
  • Melissa Bake (Volleyball)
  • Vanessa Uhrhahn (Volleyball)
  • Audrey Dearien (Volleyball)
  • Molli Pugh (Volleyball)



  • Annie Brown (Women’s Cross Country)
  • Kari Miller (Women’s Cross Country)
  • Elizabeth St. Louis (Women’s Cross Country)
  • Kelsey Rae (Women’s Cross Country)
  • Whitney Brannan (Women’s Cross Country)
  • Kenny Crane (Men's Cross Country)
  • Aaron Stafford (Men's Cross Country)
  • Kent McDowell (Men's Cross Country)



  • Sara Lachance (Women's Soccer)
  • Kristen Morency (Women's Soccer)
  • Julie Whitlow (Women's Soccer)
  • Adrienne Kennedy (Women's Soccer)
  • Casey O'Brien (Women's Soccer)
  • Madi Susmilch (Women's Soccer)
  • Hannah Poor (Women's Soccer)
  • Chloe Fennell (Women's Soccer)
  • Haylee Massey (Women's Soccer)
  • Braydi Frederick (Women's Soccer)
  • Alex Fahr (Women's Soccer)
  • Cory Cole (Men's Soccer)
  • Eli Simonsen (Men's Soccer)
  • Jose Nino (Men's Soccer)
  • Zeke Zumbro (Men's Soccer)
  • Chan Young Shin (Men's Soccer)
  • Ryan Duncan (Men's Soccer)
  • Galen Bahadoorsingh (Men's Soccer)


Share via

Share Icon:Share on FacebookShare Icon:Email this PageShare Icon:Share on Twitter